Home > Uncategorized > Learning To Fly Again

Learning To Fly Again

I have been a career salesman for roughly the last 15 years from the urging of my parents I was encouraged to join the family sales and marketing business rather than taking my post secondary education…..I worked hard to learn the business from a very young age. While in highschool and the other kids were learning in the afternoons I left the school dawned a suit and tie and did sales calls all afternoon. I thought I had a my  future pretty mapped out. I would learn through experience and not old books. Over this time I picked up many great sales and communication skills. It was all layed out…”work hard son and all this will be yours”. I did just that and heard this echoed in my ears for years.  

Fast forward to April 20th 2010 the morning my father picked me up from my home office took me a local park and proceeded to tell me that my days at this company were over due to poor spending practices by my parents. That they need my income more than my family of two small children and their son and daughter in law. Their position of life financially was more important than their own son and their two grandkids. My father looked me in the eye and said he was willing to never see the kids again to be able to right his and my mothers financial position by taking my income. My father also confessed when asked if they intentional kept me from my brother whom I had an estranged relationship with based on a long list of things my parents had told us about my brother and his feelings toward me…that information turned out to be lies that I wa sa only able to realize after my brother and I reconnected on our own accord late in Dec 2009. My father looked me in the eye and admitted to doing this to me. I lost 8 years of life with my brother based on covered up lies on my parents behalf…..WHY? I will search for this answer my whole life I think.

With that…my father turned around got in his car and left me in the park to walk home.

My life changed in an instant the career I saw as my future was over. My relationship as a son was over. Money greed and selfishness won over on me.

I’m left trying to understand what has happened and who I really am. I’m a pretty strong-minded person as most could tell you, and I’m in an abyss of uncertainty. I have no post secondary education I have worked for most of my career in one place and now have to find my place all over again while carrying a mountain of mental family strain as baggage…..the bags are heavey…I just drag them …hopefully I can find a trolley along the way to put them on to pull alongside me. 

I must be honest….this all feels like a tall order….everyone tells me I fill get to the other side…I’m sure I will. But these damn bags are so heavy…my mind is filling with water and feel as though I’m drowning….I wanna swim I kick my legs but I’m not at the surface to swim yet. I’m trying many new things to learn to live another way all over again. I’m reaching out to learn to heal my head to find vigor again so I can lift myself up and paint a new picture. The colors all seem grey but its time to paint only in color again….I think I need some help…”it is around me…” I will grab it” I just might need a push sometimes. to find the brushes.

I’m learning to fly again….seems my hardest battle to date. But at sometime soon I hope I will soar high in the sky and I can fly down and share the keys to the locks and the chains he saw everywhere.

Fly Whole Soon

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Sean Campbell
    June 10, 2010 at 5:44 pm

    WOW David, this is terrible, I can’t believe this happened to you and your family. I am so sorry to hear this, you absolutely do not deserve to be treated like this way.
    From the little I know of you, my impression of you is a very good one. I hold you in high regard, you are ambitious, very talented and a great person. You will get through this and will be a better person because of it, this I’m sure of.
    What are you currently doing, feel free to reach out anytime by cell or email, it is on FB. All the best, Sean

  2. dwayne macdonald
    June 10, 2010 at 7:22 pm

    First of all I want to say this, I know dave brewda a lot better than a lot of people think they do and feel that he might say the same about me. I remember sitting at daves house at 5 in the morning and for five hours I was using his house phone to try and find out who my real father was. Dave didn’t even think twice about me using the phone or the cost, nothing he just said if it was me I would want to know. And now this amazing guy that I personally have looked up to all my life and still do until this day has something like this happen to him. I am in complete shock and disbeliefe, almost speechless. Dave please if there is anything I can do to help at all, even if you need to talk, 2 3 4 5 in the morning don’t hesitate to call me. You have been there for me in more ways than anybody will ever know and now its my turn bro. 1 705 305 8661

  3. Jennifer Dane
    June 10, 2010 at 7:57 pm

    It’s important to remember that their actions are not a reflection on you – you are whole, loveable and loved. You deserve better and be thankful for the experience – your eyes are fully open now and you have the whole world ahead of you – nothing can hold you back!! I will be watching the sky – waiting to see you fly high!

  4. June 11, 2010 at 12:57 pm

    You absolutely can learn to fly angain and put down those bags – with ease. Don’t know if Lindsay shared her experience with ‘tapping’ but you can feel better quickly – even if that feels counterintuitive (and I know it does)
    I’d really encourage you to consider seeing an EFT pratitioner. Not so long ago, under a conpletely different set of circumstances, I would have described myself as in an abyss of uncertainty also, and I can honestly say that using EFT has completely turned my life around.
    Get in touch, I’d love to help you turn this around.

  5. Peter
    June 11, 2010 at 9:51 pm

    I have just now read your blog my brother. I am lucky to have the opportunity to be able to speak to you in person, and I have cherished those talks. I think that you are on your way to healing, and in the very near future you will be soaring high above the clouds. You will enjoy the journey of learning to fly, for when you start to soar there will be a whole new appreciation for what you have achieved and who you have become…enjoy and embrace the journey, I look forward to watching from the front row and being a part of the supporting cast if for no other part but to be there when you are finally released.

    I am now and will always be very proud of you David.

    I will leave you with this quote by Henry Ford, it speaks the truth:

    “Whether you think you can, or think you can’t…you’re right!!”

    Henry Ford

    I know you can my brother!!!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment